Author Topic: Schrodinger's Cat Revisited  (Read 8437 times)

LurkingWolf

• Mage of Caerreyn, Level 2
    • View Profile
on: January 19, 2011, 10:57:35 PM
Author's note: No, I m not proposing that anything in this story would actually work.  If something is wild and wacky, it is probably by design.  That said, basing the story on a real thought experiment makes it even more fun.

My name is Elliot.  My friends call me Doctor, my enemies call me crazy, and my mother calls me every weekend to make sure I haven't killed myself.  I'm a mad scientist, entirely self-employed, and have a few assistants that keep me company.  I never bothered to learn their names, so they're all Jim to me.  It helps me achieve a sense of continuity in my work.  Having the feeling of your help leaving after four hours, only to have another one come in interrupts any kind of flow that I might have in my experiments.

Ah, my experiments!  Now to the subject at hand.  It's been a few years since I created a serum that allows someone to turn into an animal, and approximately three weeks since I invented the formula to turn back.  Naturally, the Jims that I tested this serum on were less than impressed with my order of priorities, but they became reasonably docile once they realized that I would be in control of the antidote.

Throughout my studies, however, I have yet to successfully produce a serum that would turn someone into a hybrid.  Why do I want to?  Does the term "mad scientist" mean nothing to you?  All mad scientists need a couple of hybrids running around in order to complete the effect for anyone who might come in on a holy quest to end their research, after all.  Following stereotypes is about the only way to get noticed these days, after all...